C-Jade

C-Jade restaurant is a Hong Kong style restaurant, used to be in Mid Valley. This year, 2011, it has closed shop, left the only branch at The Gardens. It is quite famous with its char siew (barbeque pork) and siew yok (roasted pork ribs). However, I’m neither a fan of both.

Char Siew and Steamed Chicken rice (Siong Peng)
dsc00029
Combination of both barbeque chicken and steamed chicken rice is called “Siong Peng”. You can order roasted chicken if you prefer. You can choose other type of combinations from the menu list.

Rice with soup

dsc00025
It looks pretty plain with a lot of vegetable. I did not try it, so I am not sure how it tasted. By looking at this picture, I guess the portion is pretty big ya.

In my later visits, they started to introduce the set lunches. Here are some of the set lunches that my colleagues or myself have tried before this.

The Porridge Set
It comes with a big pot of porridge of your choice, sea coconut dessert and chee cheung fun. I cannot remember what my colleague has chosen for this porridge but from the picture itself, we can see that the porridge is very smooth (mein).
dsc00027
The Chee Cheung Fun with white sesame and peanut sauce. Am I saying something wrongly? Peanut sauce? It does taste weird for me to have peanut sauce on the Chee Cheung Fun.
dsc00030
The dessert – hot sea coconut.
cjade1

Char Siew Noodle
dsc00028
The Char Siew Noodle appears to be oily because of its soup base.

Cart Noodle
Hong Kong’s famous food, cheh chai mee or Cart Noodle. The ingredients of this noodle are of your choices and you can pick it from the menu list. You pay as per selected items. It has 3 different types of noodles to be chosen; thick noodle (as shown in the picture below), thin noodle and hor fun (keow teow). I prefer the thick noodle over the thin noodle because the thin noodle will become soft after a while. I have chosen the curry fish ball and vegetables for my first try.
dsc000451

Sze Chuan Minced Meat Noodle
The gravy of this noodle is thick and tasty with quite a lot of minced meat together with vegetable. The noodle is the thinner type. When you mix everything together, it looks a bit dry and oily for me. Besides that, it  comes with a bowl of soup (as shown below).
cjade3
cjade2

You can request for chili if you want some spicy feel.

Purple Cane Tea Restaurant

It is an old blog post dated in the Year 2009. I wanted to make some updates and clear up the broken links to some of the photographs. This Chinese restaurant was one of my favourite restaurants when working in Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur. The Garden Mall’s branch rating in Google review is 4.0 stars.

I will maintain the original photographs that I took using Sony Ericsson’s phone. Back then, there were no smartphones yet. A good resolution picture can be captured using point and shot camera, not a camera phone like mine. I will make some grammar updates too.

Check out the original blog below:

Purple Cane restaurant has 2 different concepts, one with a more classy-looking restaurant that you can find at The Gardens, Mid Valley. Another type is a more comfortable tea house with tatami seating at Petaling Street, Kuala Lumpur. On the second floor of some old shop lots behind the Uda Ocean, near the Pasar Seni LRT station. However, the area has been demolished now.

The focus of the old blog post was on the restaurant at The Garden Mall, Kuala Lumpur.

The food at this restaurant is pretty okay, and they mainly will use tea leaves in their cooking. You can smell the tea leaves on some of the dishes. In the past, this restaurant at The Gardens has set lunch offers and ala carte meals too. It offers a few types of tea and cold drinks also.

I have removed the set lunch price from this blog as it is no longer applicable after 12 years. It was a reasonably priced set lunch back then, and with the Jusco Aeon member card, one can get some discounts on the bill.

This set comes with a bowl of rice, a plate of meat, a plate of vegetables and a cup of Chinese tea of your choice. Here are some of the pictures of what the set lunch looks like.

Sweet and Sour Fish
dsc000161

Beancurd
dsc000151

Rice

dsc000141

Jasmine Tea
dsc000131

The whole set will look as below:

dsc000171

It is a pretty nice presentation. I like their serviette which is printed with designs. I am not sure whether they are still giving the same serviette now.

dsc000111

Revisited the restaurant after a few years. This round I tried the ala-carte dishes. I ordered three dishes and shared them with a few people. The portion was reasonably big looking at the photographs. I cannot recall how it tastes.

Address: Lot LG-206, Lower Ground Floor The Gardens, – Lingkaran Syed Putra, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur 59200.
Website: https://www.purplecane.my/