Penang Assam Laksa


During my trip to Penang Island in April, 2012, I insisted to go back to the same stall to have my Penang Assam Laksa. I brought my aunt to this stall to taste this great Assam Laksa. It is located opposite of the Air Itam wet market and not far away from the Kek Lok Si. If you are going to visit the temple (Kek Lok Si), do stop by to try this noodle.

The amount of ingredients is pretty generous for a bowl of noodle. They gave a lot of the shredded mackerel, as you can see from the picture. When you mix it with the thick round rice noodle and the prawn paste, it made a perfect mixture. The aroma  of the lemon grass is strong too and the taste is perfectly good, at least it is better than some other food courts out there.

Do look for this signboard and stall setup if you are unsure where is this stall located. I am sure you cannot miss it.

Picture from travel.kompas.com

Location:
Jalan Pasar, Air Itam, Penang.
Opens daily from 11.15am – 7.30pm

2 thoughts on “Penang Assam Laksa

  1. Oh, really, which stall in Penang Road? Maybe I can go try if I visit Penang again 🙂

Leave a Reply

