Bee Hooi Kopitiam


After seeing my colleague posted up an entry about the Penang Food in Singapore, I decided to write my second food reviews about Penang Food in Malaysia. During my stay in Penang, I came across this little kopitiam called Bee Hooi Kopitiam at Jalan Burma, Pulau Tikus and stopped by to have my dinner there. I guess this kopitiam is the nearest shop to my hotel.

Kway Teow Th’ng costs RM3.50 for a small bowl. It consists of two fish balls, few sliced of pork meat, chicken meat and fishcakes, and some fried garlic on top of the kway teow. The fried garlic goes well with the plain yet tasty soup. Slurp!

Fried Kway Teow costs RM5.00 for small portion. It gives two middle sized prawn and few sliced of Chinese sausages. The taste is still acceptable, just a bit spicy for me, and the “wok hei” is good enough. Do you know why? Just get to know that it uses charcoal instead of normal gas to fry this noodle. Still worth I think!? Although, the portion is quite small and expensive, frying kway teow with charcoal is all about the skills and the hearts to prepare the food for you.
Beehooi Kopitiam

Hmm… I am pretty proud that this two food can “earn” so well abroad. So, next time if you visit Penang, eat as much as you can. It is still cheaper to eat here if I were to compare with Gurney Drive.

Is the uncle still selling?

Location:
Bee Hooi Kopitiam, Lorong Pulau Tikus, Pulau Tikus, Penang, Malaysia.
Operatiing Hours: 6pm-12am
Public Transport : Rapid Penang buses to reach Pulau Tikus are U101, U103, U104, T304

Leave a Reply

