Pao Xiang Bah Kut Teh


To prove what was told by my friends about this restaurant, I went to this Bah Kut Teh restaurant in Mid Valley to give myself a try. Since, it was a team lunch, we were able to order few sets to try out. But, looked at the price tags, oh God, it started with 2 digits!

When asked if we can order 6 pax for 9 persons, the manager said, “Oh no, that is for 1 person portion only.” So, we have to go for 8 pax and the price, RM245+… cut throat man!

This set includes 3 plates of vegetables, 1 plate of otak-otak spring rolls, 6 bowls of Bah Kut Teh of your choices, rice, its side dishes and desserts.



When I ate the rice with the Bah Kut Teh’s broth, my tongue sensed the saltiness of the rice. I thought it was the broth that made the rice tasted salty, but when I scooped deeper into the bowl for the rice, it really tasted salty. Does anyone have the same experience?

When I asked my colleague from Thailand about its taste, he said, it is not the best that he ever had. The taste is just on average level. Well, my colleagues from Singapore too, mentioned the same thing. So, what does a local say?

I personally agreed with what they have mentioned. If I would like to have a bowl of Bah Kut Teh, firstly, I would have thought of going to Klang to have its original taste. Secondly, I will not pay for this price to eat a bowl of Bah Kut Teh. It is a premium price of Bah Kut Teh in Mid Valley.

Perhaps, if you do not want to travel too far to Klang, you can try one in Lot 10 Hutong,

Location:
Lot G(E)-020, Ground External Floor, Mid Valley Megamall, Mid Valley City, Lingkaran Syed Putra, 59200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

