Mandalay Style


Mandalay Style

My first Myanmar food experience with my “brothers” in Singapore. It was a farewell dinner with them as one of my “brother” went back to his home country, Myanmar in early July. It was really sad that my another brother also decided to leave me after two months. It is a really heart sickening period of time when both of them left. Our relationship is really close and we supported each other whenever we can. It is no where else I can find the same “brothers” again.

They brought me and my boss to try the Myanmar food with local taste somewhere in the city. From our office, we took MRT to City Hall MRT and walked about 10 minutes before we reached the place. It houses a few Myanmar’s restaurants inside this place. So, where is it??? It was located at Peninsula Excelsior Hotel, 5 Coleman Street, #B1-29, City Hall.

Upon arrival, the restaurant was full house. Lucky enough, we did not have to wait too long to be served. We placed our order as soon as we sat down.
mandalay style

Deep Fried Pork Rib

The main purpose to visit this restaurant was to try this unique dish called, Deep Fried Pork Rib. It is a must-to-try dish. According to them, the pork rib is chewy and easy to bite and I believe the taste would be great and goes well with their special sauce. I did not try the pork rib myself because, I have phobia of eating it.
Mandalay Style

BBQ Fish

The fish was fresh and tasty. It did not overly cooked until dry. I believe this is also one of their specialty.
mandalay Style

Spicy Mixed Vegetable

This dish looks like Chinese style cooking except it is spicy. The level of spiciness was moderate for me, the overall taste was good, not salty and the gravy went well with plain rice. As for the vegetable, it was not overcooked.
Mandalay style

BBQ Lady Fingers and Chicken Buttocks

Yea, do not get shocked to see this chicken buttocks. Actually, it does have a lovely shape. Hahaha 🙂
Mandalay Style

Claypot Noodle

My brothers know that I like to eat noodle and ordered the claypot noodle for me to try. Hmm, I think it is a nice try of Myanmar style’s noodle than going for plain rice. Wow, indeed, it is a nice claypot noodle with more than generous amount of ingredients inside. The soup based was a little spicy but not salty. It came with meatballs, I am not sure is what kind of meat, sausages, lots of vegetables and I saw white fungus inside. It is a kind of unique combination. They also gave generous amount of noodle. Yummy!
Mandalay Style
Overall, the dinner was wonderful, it just like having food feast and the total costs for the food is on average as I saw their prices for the dishes are affordable. The Myanmar food is quite close to Chinese food, just that it was a little spicy for some of their food. I believe you can request for less spicy if you wish. However, for me, I prefer to go according to their local taste. This is how we can taste their food! It was a wonderful Myanmar food experience. I will definitely come again.

Location : #B1-29, Peninsula Excelsior Shopping Centre, 5 Coleman Street, City Hall, 179805 Singapore.

2 thoughts on “Mandalay Style

Leave a Reply

