Jonker 88


Jonker 88, Jalan Hang Jebat (Jonker Street), Melaka, Malaysia.

It is one of the famous stalls in Malacca town and most of the tourists will drop by to have a bowl of cold cendol and popping hot nyonya laksa. I went to this shop during its off peak hour on two different days to try their food once again.

I visited this shop 4 years ago with friends. It is great to be back here and things changed. The stalls used to be operated by the roadside and now it has shifted inside. It is better and more hygiene. And of course, the price also changed.

Nyonya Cendol

Cost at RM4.00 now, it has lost its glory, they used to be thick gula melaka taste. It used to be mixed well with santan and it is irresistible during hot day in Malacca. I liked the strong gula melaka taste. Maybe now I need to double up the gula melaka.

While eating the Cendol, the Malay lady next to me was eating Assam Laksa. I think I have not tried the Assam Laksa before this and I asked her comments for the noodle. After that, I decided to get her help to “jaga” (look after) my bowl of Cendol, while I queue for a bowl of Assam Laksa.

Nyonya Assam Laksa

Shall I compare thee with Penang Assam Laksa? If can, I prefer penang version. Cost at RM7.00 now, it is pricey. It used to be between RM3-4. Sadly, it is nothing to shout about. It consists of some mackerel, 2 foo chuk with fish paste, 4 tau foo pok, 2 prawns and half egg. Cheap ingredients not supposed to be this expensive when we are just eating at kopitiam.

The next day, I went to this shop again to try the Nyonya Curry Laksa. They open at 9.30AM and it is less people at this hours. I guess people are queuing for the dim sum house next lane.

Nyonya Curry Laksa with Chicken

It is nice, still the same. It costs RM6.00 per bowl. I feel I am lucky enough to order the curry laksa with chicken, else I think its ingredients are too little to fill my stomach. It consists of 2 foo chuk, some bean sprout and vegetables and half egg. I chose to go with vermicelli instead of yellow noodle. Some people would prefer to have combination of both types of noodles.

Half way eating, the owner (maybe) was sitting down at my table. She does not look happy or maybe she’s tired. What kind of life she is leading?

As a tourist to this place, trying food at this shop, perhaps it is a common checklist in the itinerary. I wish to explore more food either from this shop or somewhere else within the Malacca City.

Location: No. 88, Jalan Hang Jebat, Malacca, Malaysia.
Ambiance: Crowded at most of its time. Not an ideal place if you late for your lunch as you have to queue and wait for a seat. The shop is very small.
Rating: 4/5. I still give 4/5 for its authentic taste of the food I tried here although it is pricey. It would be perfect 5/5 if the price is reduced a bit and restored its original taste.

Leave a Reply

