MongoDB – Installation


Today I am going to try the MongoDB installation on my Linux machine which I installed in my VMware. I am not going to do the same installation on my Windows’ laptop. I am expected to learn and workaround with the MongoDB in my virtual machine only.

Let us get started, it is simple installation and just a small confusion on one of the configuration parts, not to worry about it too much at this point. As I googled how to install MongoDB on Ubuntu, there is a list of guides to follow and I personally followed these two links:
1. From the MongoDB website: https://docs.mongodb.com/v3.2/tutorial/install-mongodb-on-ubuntu/
2. From a tutorial website: https://www.howtoforge.com/tutorial/install-mongodb-on-ubuntu-16.04/

Both are guiding us on how to install on the Ubuntu 16.04. Just follow the commands given in the website and I will just briefly mention what I do on each step.

1. Import the public key.
2. Create source list file MongoDB. I used below command, but using my Ubuntu version, Xenial,

echo "deb http://repo.mongodb.org/apt/ubuntu xenial/mongodb-org/3.2 multiverse" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mongodb-org-3.2.list

Else, the default command is,

echo "deb http://repo.mongodb.org/apt/ubuntu "$(lsb_release -sc)"/mongodb-org/3.2 multiverse" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mongodb-org-3.2.list

3. Update the repository.
4. Install MongoDB.
At this step, it asks us to create a new mongodb systemd service file in the ‘/lib/systemd/system’ directory. Below is the instruction:
Go to that directory and create the new mongodb service file ‘mongod.service’ with vim.

cd /lib/systemd/system/
vim mongod.service

In the edit mode (command prompt), I am unable to edit anything in which I should paste the setting on it and save. I have no idea how the vim works. Maybe you can enlighten me on this part.

I tried to use the text editor and I am unable to save the file because of permission issue. I did not change the file, anyway, and proceed to update the systemd service using the given command line.
5. Start Mongodb and add it as service to be started at boot time.
6. Now check that Mongodb has been started on port 27017 with the netstat command.

You can check the MongoDB’s log at /var/log/mongodb/mongod.log and the port configured in /etc/mongod.conf, 27017 by default.

The installation is completed. Few commands to be remember:
1. Start service – sudo service mongod start
2. Stop service – sudo service mongod stop (or control-C)
3. Restart service – sudo service mongod restart
4. Go to Mongo shellmongo

Leave a Reply

