Oriental Kopi


Recently, there has been news that this famous restaurant called Oriental Kopi is going to open its first branch in Singapore later this year. Many social media reported the news and it seemed like many people welcomed it too.

Tried it at KLIA2

I tried it once when I went back to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia early this year. It has a branch at KLIA2. I went for breakfast on that day. There was no queue in front of me but the restaurant was occupied. I waited a while before the waitress greeted me and I got seated near the cashier counter.

I looked at the menu and looked at what other people were eating at that time. I placed my order for a cup of hot drink and a plate of dry mee siam. Check out the pictures below that I posted on my Instagram.

Kopi butter

It is famous in Malaysia, and I would like to try them again. The picture on the menu showed black coffee with a piece of butter. However, when the waitress served my drink, it was a white coffee or coffee with milk. I felt odd but I did not request for a verification or ask for a change. I quickly placed the butter into the coffee, it melted and stirred well before started drinking.

It would be better to have it with black coffee without sugar to maximise the butter taste, or at least that is the original taste to enjoy kopi butter. Let me know if you have a better way to enjoy kopi butter.

@liyenzwordpress

Feb 6: Sarapan pagi di Kedai Kopitiam Oriental Kopi di the KLIA2 sebelum bertolak ke Kuala Lumpur. #breakfast #morning #whati8today #meesiam #kopi #coffee #coffeetiktok #food #eating #foodie #nom #kopibutter #malaysialife #kualalumpur @Oriental Kopi

♬ original sound – liyenz – liyenz

Dry mee siam

One portion of mee siam which I think was reasonable. It was flavourful and not very spicy. The ingredients for the mee siam included some fried tofu puff, half of a hard-boiled egg, two pieces of cucumber, half of the fish cakes and sambal. The sambal was quite spicy so I did not mix it with my noodles.

Overall, I do not think it is worth ordering the dry mee siam. The ingredients were too little in my opinion. At one point, I felt so pathetic looking at the fish cake.

Maybe for other dishes, they might be tasty, generous portions and worth eating them. If you want to share, please let me know in the comment box below.

Go somewhere else for mee siam

If you are really keen to have mee siam, go to the local Malay food stall be it on the roadsides or at the hawker centres, they serve better dry mee siam with plenty of dishes (lauk) that you want to add on. These dishes are the dishes that they cook for nasi lemak. So, if I ordered the same or close to what I had that day from these Malay food stalls, I believe it cost less than what I paid here. Of course, I had to pay for the ambience, services, etc when I ate at the restaurant.

Address: ORIENTAL KOPI @ KLIA2 Arrival, L3 41-46, LEVEL 3, TERMINAL KLIA 2, Kuala Lumpur Int’l Airport, KLIA2 Arrival Lane, 64000 Sepang, Selangor, Malaysia.
Google rating: 4.1 stars (IMHO, I think I will give a 3.5 star for the food and worthiness of having a meal at this branch)

If you like my content, you may follow me on IG, and wish to donate, you may do so via the buymeacoffee’s QR code below:

Follow me on IG channel: liyenz (@liyenzwordpress)
Follow me on FB page: Liyenz (facebook.com/liyenzwordpress)
Follow me on TikTok channel: liyenz (@liyenzwordpress)


Discover more from LiYenzWordPress

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a comment