Prairie by Craftsmen


I went for a walk around Joo Chiat, Katong area on a beautiful Sunday. It is located in the eastern part of Singapore. Joo Chiat offers a unique blend of old-world charm and modern amenities; a mix of Peranakan heritage, colourful shophouses, and bustling street life. It is a good place to visit with friends or family.

I was introduced to this cafe by a friend. A bit messy in terms of queue management before being seated. I do not recall there being a sign, “Please wait before being seated”. So, it caused a commotion between the first group of people and the couple behind me as the couple did not wait to be served. It is just a little drama in the afternoon.

Avocado toast

The food was well-tasted, but one of the poached eggs was not perfectly runny. It was going to be an onsen egg. The sourdough was hard and it has a bit of a chewy texture. I see the reviews saying that the sourdough is nice so I guess it may be due to toasting it.

The portion was generous with sliced avocado, poached eggs, plenty of cheese and salads. No need to add extra sauce or seasonings as the food went well with its original taste and the cheese.

Cold cappuccino

I ordered a cup of cold cappuccino to complete my meal. I am not a fan of cappuccino and it was a cold drink so I could not tell if the coffee was nice. Definitely, it did not taste bad at all, it was just a little diluted by the ice over time. I will go back to hot coffee if I visit again.

Price and services

The price for my meal is okay for this location and it is a common price range when I eat out at a cafe. The crew members are attentive and the food service is considerably good on busy Sundays. It is a pet-friendly cafe where I can see pets sitting at the al fresco dining outside. It added a good point for people like me who want to have pet therapy without paying (just joking).

Address: PRAIRIE by Craftsmen (Joo Chiat), 462 Joo Chiat Rd, Singapore 427674.
Google link: https://maps.app.goo.gl/T9EwkMpZUfm6frwm9
Google rating: 4.3 stars. (IMHO I will give them a 3.8 star, the food is good and I love to try their hot drink but not so soon).

If you like my review, you may click the love button on my IG above, follow me on IG for more updates, and wish to support my food journey, you may do so via the buymeacoffee’s QR code below:

Follow me on IG channel: liyenz (@liyenzwordpress)
Follow me on FB page: Liyenz (facebook.com/liyenzwordpress)
Follow me on TikTok channel: liyenz (@liyenzwordpress)


Discover more from LiYenzWordPress

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a comment