Shin Kee Beef Noodle


I updated the below content on 2021-11-03 because the links to the photographs have been broken. I want to give the latest updates about this famous stall that I visited in 2011 December.

Based on a Google review, the stall goes by Sin Kiew Yee Shin Kee Beef Noodles. It has a 4.4 stars rating, with most food reviews saying the food is good; however, the service or the staff’s manner needs to be improved. It has been ten years ago since my last visit. I do not have much to say about the service and manners. Maybe, I focus on the food quality and standards.

I went to this stall with a friend after we visited Batu Caves. We came back to KL City via the KTM Komuter train. The beef noodle stall is located nearby the KTM station. So, we decided to try our local, old, and famous beef noodle at Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, nearby Petaling Street.

During the peak hour, this stall is packed with people, and sometimes you have to share tables with other people. I am not sure whether this shop is always crowded during the weekends, but when we reached this shop at 3.30 PM on Saturday, we were pretty surprised that nobody was inside the shop. The workers were sitting down, and I thought they were about to close the shop. I guessed it was off-peak during our visit; therefore, we got seated immediately.

I did not really like beef back then, so I just ordered the meatballs with minced meat. I ordered the dry version of beef noodle which came with a bowl of noodles of my choice, hor fun (flat rice noodle). They served meatballs in another bowl with some soup. Looking at the noodle portion and the minced meat portion, both are generous. The minced meat was not very oily and mixed well with hor fun or yellow noodle.

The beef balls are fresh and springy when you eat them, unlike some beef balls, which are powdery and hard to swallow. I cannot recall what is the texture of the meatballs at Shin Kee and Soong Kee. Let me not compare these two stalls for now until I get a chance to try both of them again in the future.

The broth is clear, it is not strong taste. I did not feel thirsty after finishing the soup. No MSG maybe? Usually, beef noodle comes with their own special chilli paste too.

Address: 7a, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, City Centre, 50000 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Google link: https://goo.gl/maps/gA5QXBtPx2QwwG8h9
Google rating: 4.3 stars

If you like my review and wish to donate, you may do so via the buymeacoffee’s QR code below:

One thought on “Shin Kee Beef Noodle

Leave a comment